February Things

Kids, I’ve been sick. Sick means abbreviated time at work which means work has now piled up which means my time is at premium, and my creativity is at an all-time low. So let’s jump on the ol’ end of the month recap bandwagon and chat about things I’ve liked in February. Cool? Cool.

Long Lost Friend Meet Ups

imageMichelle came to D.C. at the beginning of February, and in true awkward fashion, I told her that her pregnant belly looked much bigger in person. Kill me. I swear to God, I don’t know why anyone is friends with me. Luckily, Michelle looks like a teeny stick with a basketball strapped to her mid-section, and she took it in stride and didn’t smack me upside the head. In fact, the hug-hater herself even gave me 3 hugs. Eat your heart out, Paula.

Roo Snuggles

image_7So what if this isn’t unique to February. You know I had to get a gratuitous Roo photo in here. You’re welcome.

Trader Joe’s Sweet and Spicy Pecans

image_2

These are like crack. I keep telling myself I can’t have them in the house, but somehow they find their way into my cart at TJ’s every week. Weird.

Hummus and Avocado Sandwiches

image_5

 

Being vegan does not suck. Pretty sure I could subsist on avocado and hummus sandwiches alone. But I wouldn’t because then I couldn’t eat this:

Homemade Trail Mix

image_3This is not a recipe–I mean, we’re talking about mixing a bunch of stuff together. Not an exact science at all. Basically, it’s 3 cups of nuts (cashews, almonds, and pecans) mixed with 1/2 cup each dried apricots and mango (cut up into bite-sized pieces), 1/4 cup dried cranberries, and TJ’s dark chocolate gogi berries (don’t get me started). Oh, and 1/4 tsp. salt. Mix. Eat. Done.

Island Margarita Pocket Bac

image_8Cognitive dissonance at its finest, this stuff is enough to momentarily mess with your senses. It’s like a margarita or a vacation, but then it’s like, not. Just trust me, and try it.

Brunch with the Girls

image_6

 

In case you weren’t aware, brunch in D.C. is like, a thing. People take it very seriously, and it’s often a day long affair that requires a lot of liver stamina and a healthy bite out of your checking account. Last weekend, I did homemade brunch with my girlfriends instead. Not only was it cheaper, but it made it super easy for me to eat vegan–and everyone loved the vegan biscuits and gravy I brought. Not that I’m trying to convert anyone, but still.

Throwback Thursday

image_1Because who doesn’t want to see a picture of 1991 me sporting a full on perm and baking cookies? Am I right? There might even be a hint of braces in that little grin.

And one thing I am most certainly NOT loving:

Lentils

image_4I have had lentils in things other people have made and have had zero issue with them. But I attempted both lentil soup and lentil loaf last week, and they were . . . not good. They just didn’t taste like anything. And I did some serious seasoning, so I’m not sure where things went wrong, just that they did. Plus, what is it with sorting and rinsing lentils? What does that mean? I mean, I did it, but I didn’t get it, you know? There was nothing to sort. They just made an enormous mess all over my kitchen and made me want to eat a burger. Out of meat. And not lentils.

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “February Things

  1. FWIW, ou are the not the only person who says I look much bigger in person. And they follow it up with, “But not in a bad way.” I take it as a compliment because I KNOW this is not going to be a small baby. And yay for hugs. Apparently pregnancy makes hugging OK.

    I need to spent a weekend in DC. And I need to go to brunch with you (obviously).

    Feel better!

  2. Hope you’re feeling better now chica! Been crazy busy here…trying to get back in shape, lots of fun blogging stuff happening here and now heading back to TX on Monday! Brunch sounds fun and that sandwich looks drool worthy! yum… You know I’ll be smuggling in avocados from the US when I return! lol

    xoxo from Trinidad

Leave a reply

