{vegan} Biscuits & Gravy

One of the things I miss most about being vegan is breakfast food. Well, if I’m being technical, I actually miss brunch food. The difference between breakfast and brunch is that during brunch you drink. #duh3b4a6dd0865011e1a9f71231382044a1_7.jpg

If you’re not aware, basically all brunch food contains eggs in some form. I like eggs. A lot. And it’s not like I couldn’t eat them, but I know if I do that I’m not going to feel good. At this point, it’s not really worth it.

Unless it’s vegan–which some places do offer–I’m typically limited to dry toast and hash browns for my brunch offerings. Don’t get me wrong–I love a tasteless piece of cardboard or a pile of greasy potatoes as much as the next guy, but it can be a bit limiting.

IMG_0409.JPG

 

Vegan brunch at Busboys and Poets. Scrambled eggs > scrambled tofu (although this is great vegan brunch)

The admittedly less than ideal solution to this is to make brunch at home. Less than ideal because I want to be waited on and have my Bloody Mary mixed by someone else and served to me, but it’ll do on occasion.

Given that this is the solution, I’ve been shocking all my meat-loving friends with how good this vegan biscuits and gravy recipe tastes. Last night, I made BFD (brunch for dinner) for my sister who’s visiting from Michigan, and she kept saying, “This is really good.” Like, over and over again. And given that she did sound somewhat incredulous each time she said, I’m confident she wasn’t just flattering me. I served her 2 biscuits covered in tempeh sausage gravy and there wasn’t a lick left on the plate. This from a girl who ate more than $5 worth of froyo just a couple hours earlier. I was so proud.

d0ef51ca850f11e28f2522000a9f148e_7

{vegan} Tempeh Sausage Gravy

Makes 4 servings

Slightly adapted from this recipe.

8 oz. pkg. tempeh
1 t. dried basil
1 t. dried oregano
1/2 t. red pepper flakes
2 T. fresh sage, finely chopped and divided
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 T. soy sauce
1T. + 1 t. olive oil
1 15 oz. can white beans, rinsed and drained
~1/2 cup water
salt and pepper
squeeze of lemon juice

Crumble the tempeh into a medium saucepan. Add enough water to the pan just to cover. Heat over medium-high heat for about 12 minutes, simmering until most of the water has cooked off.

While the tempeh simmers, combine basil, oregano, red pepper flakes, 1 T. sage, garlic, soy sauce, and 1 t. olive oil in a small dish. Set aside.

Puree the white beans with the other tablespoon of sage, one tablespoon of olive oil, and salt and pepper (I used 1/2 t. sea salt and a few grinds of black pepper). I used my food processor, but if you don’t have one, a blender should work just fine. Stream in 1/4 cup water, and set aside.

The tempeh should be good to go by now, so drain off any excess water, and add the basil seasoning mix to the pan. Stir to coat, and cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Pour the white bean mixture into the pan and stir until everything is incorporated, adding about 1/4 cup of water to thin it out a bit. (You could probably add up to half a cup without changing the flavor if it’s too thick for you).

Serve over vegan sweet potato biscuits. Impress your meat-eating friends. 😉

photoTo differentiate BFD from regular breakfast for dinner, we did this:

7ba53e8e5c4511e28f8522000a1fb838_7Booze = brunch. FYI.

 

 

3 thoughts on “{vegan} Biscuits & Gravy

Leave a reply

