Redemption?

According to the Daily Mile, I ran over 1100 miles in 2012. That includes marathon training, which I’m sure made up for the 6 weeks I was off for the demon back injury and the last 6 weeks of the year, when I didn’t run because I was completely burnt out and jaded and pouting.

Now that I’ve finally gotten back to a place where I’m enjoying it and feeling healthy, I figure I should ruin it work toward something and run a race. Yes, I realize this may be a bit premature given that I’ve been back to running for exactly 8 days, but there’s no time like the present, so why not?

10k_logo_400

If you’ve been reading this blog forever (which probably only applies to my mom and Paula), you may remember that I did this race 2 years ago. It was a shit show. Given that, I’m not entirely sure why I thought running this as my first race back was a good idea, but it’s happening. Redemption? Sure. Let’s go with that.

Honestly, though, I’d really like for this race to go well. I need a come back race to help me find my confidence again.

The race is a month away, which is plenty of time to train. Roo helped me out yesterday. She’s still kind of an asshole at running (which is entirely my fault), but we were able to maintain a 9 minute pace, and I managed to stay upright the entire time, so I’d call it a win.

roo run

I also knocked out half a half marathon on Saturday while everyone else in D.C. was busy getting drunk.

photo

Incidentally, this run nearly killed me. My endurance is definitely not where it once was. Oy.

In other news, I spent my Saturday night watching old Bon Jovi videos on YouTube.

Bon_Jovi_0020

Ugh. He’s just so hard to look at.

My 16 year old self was swooning. I also ate the spiciest chana masala I’ve ever made and spent a fair amount of time pinning books I liked when I was a kid. And laughed at this. A lot.

e47200ad44c5b3da4867419019ae6736

18 thoughts on “Redemption?

  1. Oh my gosh. I had a Bon Jovi CD when I was 14 and I thought his lyrics were SO DEEP. Ha! I might have worn out, “I’ll Be There For You”.
    YAY for a come back race! Go get that redemption Lady!

  2. applesandglue says:

    Wow you’re so awesome, I wish I could run like you! As it is, my knee is hurting and I didn’t even run today! PS I want your Garmin lol!

  3. Yay! I’ll be running this one. Also Health Warrior will have a cheer station around mile 4, but I will probably finish after you. The day is soo fun though so let me know if you plan to stick around!

Leave a reply

