Lentils: Take 2

Friends, I am in a serious funk. This whole late spring thing combined with a rough month at work is taking its toll. I generally try to stay positive, but my patience is thinning.

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 9.38.02 AM

Meh.

One of the things that often cheers me up when I’m a little blue is cooking or baking, so it’s an easy go-to solution for me. As cheesy as it may sound, I like the certainty of knowing that if I mix certain ingredients together in a certain way, they’re going to make cookies. Or bread. Or soup. I guess it’s comforting in a way.

Over the weekend, I figured I’d cheer myself up by making some soup. Know why? Soup requires chopping. Carrots. Celery. Onions. All the chopping is very therapeutic. Methodical, you know?

For whatever reason, I decided this soup was going to be of the lentil variety, which is somewhat counter-intuitive considering my first attempt at lentils was, well, kind of a disaster. But I really wanted to make them work. I mean, they’re super vegan, you know? Like, something vegans eat? A very vegan thing to eat? Right? Yes? No? No . . . ok.

Anyway.

I know lentils are really good for me. When other people (i.e., the proprietors of restaurants and grocery stores) make lentils, I like them. My experience with the red lentils, though–no bueno. But several people told me green or yellow or brown lentils were better. While I still don’t understand the differences among them, I figured any lentils had to be better than the mushy red ones.

My cousin had sent me a recipe for a lentil soup that sounded good, but I didn’t have all the ingredients. I decided to invent a recipe based on a hybrid of the one she sent along with a few other ideas I’d found online. What I came up with is pretty freaking fantastic, if I do say so myself (and I do).

Green Lentil Soup with Coconut & Spinach

2 cups green lentils, rinsed and sorted
1 cup sliced carrots
3 ribs celery, chopped
1/2 onion, diced
3 cups diced sweet potatoes
1 heaping T. grated fresh ginger
3 cloves garlic, grated or finely minced
1 T. tomato paste
1 t. cumin
1 t. coriander
1 t. garam masala
1 t. tumeric
2 t. salt
1 t. fresh black pepper
4 cups vegetable broth
2 cups water
2 cups frozen chopped spinach
1 can coconut milk

Mix everything but spinach and coconut milk in slow cooker. Set to low heat for 4 hours. Stir in spinach and coconut milk and allow to warm for 15 minutes.

IMG 0959

I didn’t grow up eating much Middle Eastern-inspired food, so maybe that’s why this soup tasted so unexpectedly good? The flavor profile is really complex. Smoky and spicy and a little sweet from the coconut milk, plus lots of different textures from the lentils, sweet potatoes, and spinach. Just really delicious.

If you’re like me and have a lentil disaster under your belt, I highly recommend you give this soup a try.

Any good lentil recipes out there?

I need to use up the rest of my lentils, and while I could make more soup, I’d love to try something else. Link it up below!

19 thoughts on “Lentils: Take 2

  1. Jill says:

    I have developed a obsession with legumes. I recently made lentil soup and split pea soup. I am looking for the “right” lentil bean salad recipe. I am contemplating making white bean or lentil sloppy joes and sprouting my own beans. I have told my co-worker that I am “going hippie” and from now on will only be wearing espadrilles to the office!! 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, chopping is so therapeutic. Especially herbs…going back and forth with your knife. I love it! I was feeling (am feeling?) the same way-in such a funk with with weather and work. I made sure to do some baking last weekend as that helps me too

  3. Stephanie B says:

    I made the soup this weekend and it was delicious- I anticipate it will be on the meal rotation around here, even through summer. I look forward to trying more veggies in it too, depending on what is in the fridge. Thanks for posting!

Leave a reply

