Is It OK?

First thing’s first: Your comments yesterday on the whole form correction thing? Spot on. So many helpful, thoughtful ideas from people who’ve done it, people who are in the process of doing it, people who (like me) know they should do it. Definitely check out the comments if you have any interest in transitioning to a natural running form. The readers around here know what they’re talking about.

There’s something else on my brain that’s been bugging me for about a week now. I think I’m probably being oversensitive about it, but maybe not, and so I figured I’d run it by some friends (you guys, obvi) to get your thoughts.

Last week, a former co-worker posted a photo collage on Instagram. I thought about reposting the actual picture here given that she posted it in a public forum, but decided against it. Instead, you will have to imagine from my description. Bear with me.

On the left, a picture of her taken at an odd angle where her face looks chubbier than usual and her arm is somewhat squished so that it looks larger than it actually is. This is clearly an older picture and not flattering. On the right, a picture of her now, looking thin and healthy (she’s an athlete; this is how she’s always looked). The caption reads: “So proud of my progress! #healthyliving #fitness #eatclean #90daychallenge #weightloss #diet #exercise #progress #gym”

My best attempt at replication–fair at best, but you get the idea.

I get it–it’s a joke. It’s making fun of the healthy living community. I’m definitely not above that. We are an odd, if not supportive and kind of fantastic, breed. But is it ok? I mean, this girl has never struggled with her weight, never had to even think about dieting or exercise, eats whatever she likes, generally lives a healthy lifestyle, etc. I just thought it was really insensitive and unfair to the friends whose blogs I follow who really are working hard and have made real progress.

I mean, I’ve never had to work–really work–to maintain my weight, and I know that I’m fortunate for that. But I do know what it’s like to struggle with body image and feeling good about yourself. Just because I’ve never had a large amount of weight to lose doesn’t mean I get to discount the efforts of others or diminish them. I just don’t think that’s right. Like Madeline Albright (and then my beloved Taylor Swift) said, “There is a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women.” No, I’m not perfect by any means. I say and do the wrong thing all the time. But level with me here–am I overreacting or is this just ok? Because it’s been on my mind for a week, and I can usually shrug things off a lot more easily.

11 thoughts on “Is It OK?

  1. At first, I thought, “what’s wrong with that?” But then realized it’s supposed to be a joke. I don’t find it funny personally. Actually, it’s kinda shitty to those to are proud of themselves for actually accomplishing that. But if I didn’t know her, I probably wouldn’t know it was a joke either. So maybe less people were offended because they didn’t get it?

    Also, TSwift said that because she can’t take a joke from Tina Fey. She’s offended because Tina said to keep someone’s son (can’t remember who) away from her so she wouldn’t date him? Poor baby. I’m on Tina’s side for that one.

    • Yep, shitty. Thought so. #bffl

      Haha, you know I always love Swifty, but yeah, probably oversensitive on that one. Can’t argue with the sentiment, though!

      ________________________________

      • Honestly, I would have thought that was serious too – so I’m willing to bet that if it was a joke, no one got it. And I do think it’s SUPER insensitive to women everywhere, because you never know where they came from. While I’ve never been ‘overweight’ persay, I have been heavier and I’m proud of all the progress I’ve made to tone up and slim down, and I think everyone should be proud of whatever progress they’ve made. So that’s rude.

        Also, I love T. Swift. Even if everyone else hates her. 😉

  2. applesandglue says:

    If it’s a joke, I don’t consider it funny either. Different people are dealing with all sorts of weight and body image issues and that could make it worse on them. 😦

  3. Hmmm – I think it’s a lame joke. At the same time – people that post that kind of stuff constantly with the hashtags and on every social site possible bug the shit out of me. I’m all for doing a post or a few pictures here and there (hey, I do it with my belly!) but I see people do it every day and I’m like REALLY? I don’t think the haters help though. So basically… I don’t know.

  4. Joking about weight makes me crazy because most readers look for support and role models such as yourself and you don’t want them to get the wrong idea of you. Like yourself, I’ve never had to lose a ton. but I’m female and constantly over analyzing how I can be better and mostly healthier. Just knowing its a joke doesn’t mean it doesn’t make you think it over and over and over 🙂 Which leads me to think about how people perceive me and it doesn’t stop (I think a lot) there. If you got that kinda craziness going on harmful jokes nag you to certifiable craziness 🙂 luckily my fiancé is awesome and talks me off the ledge. Discussing weight joking or not is insensitive.

    Have a glass of wine and have no worries 🙂

Leave a reply

