Thoughts on the Boston Marathon

On Marathon Monday, I’ve always been like a little kid. Even before I started racing myself, I was giddy with excitement to track my friends running the race, watch the live feeds, and vicariously enjoy the energy of the race from afar. Yesterday was no different. By 9 am I had the live feed ready to go on my computer, alerts set up to stalk track my sweet Richmond girls running the race, and an anxious feeling of anticipation on behalf of the runners. Racing is one of the most thrilling parts about being a runner, and to dedicate yourself to the goal of running a marathon for months and then have that goal come to fruition is (I can only imagine) beyond fulfilling.

If you’ve ever run a race, you know the incredible sense of community you feel when you line up en mass at the start. To know that hundreds if not thousands of people are coming together to work toward a common goal is one of the most powerful things I’ve ever felt. Lining up at the start of a race, you feel everything that’s exemplary and admirable about the human spirit. It’s like nothing else. And runners? We like everyone. Short, tall, old, young, expert, novice . . . there’s no discrimination. No one doesn’t make the team. Everyone’s invited.

Like everyone else, I watched in horror and disbelief at the scene unfolding yesterday. Such senseless sadness. And to attack a group of people who welcome everyone? To attack the mothers, fathers, sons, daughters, sisters, brothers, aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends who came to support their mothers, fathers, sons, daughters, sisters, brothers, aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends? Unreal.

The outpouring I’ve witnessed from the running community in the last 20 hours is remarkable, yet not surprising. You’re talking about people who run 26.2 miles for fun. We don’t mess around. We’re dedicated, focused, and tough. That’s why I know runners will be lining up at the start of races this weekend and every weekend after that for as long as races exist. Runners are fearless. We believe in what’s possible. We don’t quit.

Sending prayers and love to everyone affected.
XOXO

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Boston Marathon

  1. Jill says:

    Thanks so much for your lovely post that tells of the beauty of the race. The first bomb blast was just block from my first apartment in Boston. I will never forget cutting up oranges to hand out to the runners that past by my dorm when I was in college. Very sad!!!!

  2. Great thoughts Melissa. I know when I run my “Run to Remember” on 4/28/13 there will be so much more meaning. I hope I don’t drain myself with tears before it even starts. 🙂 I do love that we are a community that works hard and it just makes us more driven. We are a community that pushes ourselves and doesn’t give up so whoever did this will not succeed!

Leave a reply

