If You Need an Escape

I think we can all agree that this week has been absolute madness. Praying for a swift resolution in Boston with no more bloodshed.

Since we’ve been inundated with so many horrific events this week, here are a few of my favorite reads from around the web that took my mind off of things. Sometimes, you just need a break from reality. From me to you. Enjoy.

Runners, the marathon does matter

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 11.23.45 AM
If you completely ignore the rest of this post, but read this article, I am super good with that. Gave me goosebumps. And tears.

The Dove Experiment
dove experiment
I’m sure a lot of you are already aware of this, but if you haven’t seen it yet, you need to. With an aim to change the way women see themselves, Dove had them describe the way they look to a sketch artist behind a curtain. Then, another woman described the same person to the sketch artist. The differences in the sketches are amazing. A powerful message packed into 3 minutes. Worth watching.

7 Hidden Signs of Overtraining
woman_workout_run
Yet another reminder of the importance of rest days and allowing your body to recover while training.

Test Your Time Perception
segments As I get older, I feel like time passes more quickly. I know Claire feels the same way, since she linked to an article about it last week! Psychologist author Claudia Hammond did an absolutely fascinating study of the way our brains perceive time as we age. These exercises give you a barometer of just how accurate you are at time perception.

Hip Strengthening Exercises for Runners

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 2.24.02 PM
I was glad to see that I already do a lot of these, but I want to incorporate the others into my routine. Healthy hips FTW!

Monsanto March

Has anyone else heard about what’s going on with GMO’s? I don’t know about you, but I’d rather not take any chances. Especially given that the U.S. is one of the only Western cultures that doesn’t include this info on food labels.

I Paid Off $15,000 of Debt . . . Training for a Marathon
stephanie-christensen-2007-boston-marathon

One of the many reasons runners are successful at more than just running. They persevere.

Hope this gives you a little escape from the crazy world we live in, makes you smile, and helps you to remember that there is good in the world and that the best thing we can do to honor the victims is to live an authentic life.

4 thoughts on “If You Need an Escape

  1. Just from that Dove experiment picture, it seems like the woman sees herself with better hair than the stranger. 🙂 Now I need to go watch that video…
    Good articles, lady. See? This is what I need you to find me to read every day. Mmmkay?

  2. Ok, 2 things:

    1) I SWEAR that girl running in the BM pic above was you (wait, is it you???) It seriously looks like you! 🙂

    2) Thank you so much for sharing the overtraining tips. I am being really careful this year since I am running one half marathon each month. I think I overtrained a bit last summer when I increased my mileage too quickly so I’m being more careful this year!

    • 1) HA! You know, I noticed that it vaguely looked like me, too!

      2) It’s such a fine line–something I’ve definitely done. Good things to keep in mind.

      ________________________________

Leave a reply

