Training Update

I know. I know. I’ve been away for a week. My uncle reminded me when he called last night and asked when I’d be writing a new post.

This blog’s for you, Uncle Jon!

The truth is, I had planned to blog, but, like, LIFE! You know? So here we are. He suggested a post about flowers, which would be lovely, however, maybe not all that interesting. Then again, that suggests that most of what I write actually is interesting. Debatable. So here are flowers:

Spring!

Spring!

And now, a training update. The whole training thing is still happening. Here’s the rundown:

Half Marathon #7 Training–Week 2

Monday: 4 miles easy

Tuesday: 3 miles easy with Roo yanking my arm off; This workout and this workout. Yowsa on the legs.

Wednesday: On deck: mile repeats. What actually happened was this: Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 9.19.40 AM

I tried to set myself up for success by waiting to do that last mile until I had gotten back on flat ground, but the heat got the best of me. As I reminded myself, running these quicker paces doesn’t come naturally to me. I know I can do it, but it is something I have to train for.

Thursday: 4 miles easy, upper body & core work

Friday: REST

Saturday: 11 miles, 6 of them painful . . .

Sunday: this workout, core work

So, that long run on Saturday? Not fun. It’s the hip/back/hamstring issue that I’ve had on and off for the last 14 months. What’s most frustrating is that I don’t know why it keeps coming back. After taking 4 months off, I should be good as new, but that’s not the case. I know it’s not broken because I had it x-rayed, but I’m not sure what else I can do to fix it. I guess it’s back to the doc. I know Amanda recommended Sports + Spinal Physical Therapy here in DC a while back, so I think I’ll look into them. But seriously? UGH! I’d like it if my body would just work, damnit! Getting older is the worst.

8 thoughts on “Training Update

  1. Injuries are SO annoying. I have something going on with my calf/ankle and am just hoping it goes away – but it will be 70 and sunny here today and I really want to go for a run. Sending good thoughts your way! xo

  2. Hmmm.. maybe it’s not an injury – but your body just needs to be (consistently) realigned? I know my back, hips,and knees feel jacked if I’m not going to my chiropractor regularly. I think he’s a quack, but dude does amazing stuff to help me move. I wouldn’t be able to run if I didn’t go (thanks Dad for the scoliosis)! I was going a TON when I first started (like 2-3 times a week), but I now go twice a month and it still makes a world of difference. So I agree – go see someone!!

  3. Alison says:

    Get yourself to the doctor young lady! Now I know I’m not a runner but I have done my fair share of physical therapy and I hate to say it but it really does work! I think the key is finding the right one… I have been to a handful of different physical therapists and I’ve found that the best ones make you come 2-3 times a week and really work you out!

Leave a reply

