Training Update

Week 3 of training is complete! This past week was a lot better injury-wise, and I’m pretty sure it has something to do with the fact that I didn’t do any speed work. I’ve noticed that when I try to push my pace, my hamstring cramps up pretty quickly and my hip gets tight, but if I keep it a little more moderate, I’m ok. This realization doesn’t make me all that happy, but at least I know I can run without pain even if it is slower than I’d like it to be. Here’s what happened:

Half Marathon #7 Training–Week 3

Monday: 4 miles easy, a lot of random strength training

All Over the Place Workout hungryhealthymj.com

Tuesday: 4 miles, easy; Absolute Power (abs) Workout

Wednesday: 6 miles, easy

Thursday: 10 miles with crazy pants

Are we seriously stopping for you to take pictures of me?  I just got bored.

Are we seriously stopping for you to take pictures of me?
I just got bored.

Running with Roo is somewhat challenging. She pulls on my arm the entire time, making it a little tough to stay loose and relaxed, especially over 10 miles. She enjoyed herself on this run. I did not. Even so, I didn’t feel sore because I was too busy wrangling her and kept my pace to 9 minute miles. Not as quick as I would’ve liked, but the absence of pain post-run made up for it. I also just borrowed a Gentle Leader to try on her when we run, and it’s like a miracle. But more on that later.

Friday: REST

Saturday: 5 miles easy, 4 sets of this workout

Sunday: this workout (same as Saturday), and Paula‘s Hurts to Laugh Abs <–kill me

All in all, a decent week. I’m much less sore than I have been, and while I hate that I can’t run as fast as I’d like to, I’d rather finish this upcoming race than run it fast. Right now, I’m focusing on staying healthy and enjoying my training sans speed.

5 thoughts on “Training Update

  1. Hmmm maybe borrowing Roo for a week would get me out of my running rut?! Or perhaps I should get my own! Hopefully next year!

  2. Nice week of workouts! I like that you’re not hurting (as much). I’m contemplating not adding speedwork back into my runs for a long time because I have read a lot on how hard it is on your body! Since I’m pretty much starting over, I guess it won’t be hard to avoid speed though. LOL.

    Roo is too cute even if she is nuts!

  3. Nice job on the workouts! I cant imagine running 10 miles w/a dog. I figure my arm would fall off. I bet Roo loved it though. 🙂 Glad you are running smart and taking it at a slower pace. 🙂

    xoxo from Calgary

  4. Abbie says:

    My husband and I run with our dog a lot, or bike, and she totally used to pull my arm off too (she literally would drag me down the road if I fell). I was soo skeptical about getting one, but our dog behaviorist friend recommended a prong collar. It is seriously made running and biking so much easier. We call it her “metal brain” haha because when we take it off, she’s right back to her old ways. I totally recommend it, and it does hurt her one bit.

Leave a reply

