Peanut Butter Protein Smoothie

You guys. I cannot stop making this smoothie. How often do you have to crave/want/need something in your life to be considered an addict? Because I think I may be reaching the point of addiction here. 

IMG 1277

It’s peanut buttery without the added fat and calories, but packed–PACKED!–with protein thanks to this stuff.DSC06722

I first got Protein Plus Peanut Flour from iHerb about a year ago, but (stupidly) didn’t think to put it in a smoothie. I don’t know why, because it makes a mean peanut butter muffin, so the leap to putting it in, well, everything.

DSC06740

What’s awesome about the Protein Plus is that just 2 tablespoons pack an additional 8g of protein into my smoothie with only 55 calories and 2g of fat. I’d rather get my healthy fats from olive oil or avocado than peanut butter, so this is a great alternative for me. 

Peanut Butter Protein Smoothie

Serves 1-2

1 scoop vanilla protein powder
2 T. Protein Plus Peanut Flour
1/2-3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or whatever milk you like)
1 big handful of spinach
1 frozen banana 
2 handfuls of ice
pinch of salt
splash of vanilla extract
pinch of xantham gum (optional, for thickening)

Add first 4 ingredients to blender and blend until spinach is completely broken down. Add banana and blend. Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth. It will be extra thick, especially if you use the xantham gum, so I pour mine into a bowl and eat it with a spoon.

IMG 1280

Kashi GoLean Crunch on top–optional.

The Protein Plus is a little pricey–$5.79 for 1 lb.–but if you’re only using 2 tablespoons at a time, it lasts a long time. iHerb.com has the best pricing that I’ve found, and you can use this code for a little discount: AWO351 ($5 off your first iHerb order and $10 off if your order is $40 or more).

I tend to get into food ruts where I eat the exact same thing for days–or weeks–on end. I used to be so good about cooking new things all the time, but lately, I’m all about this smoothie, mixed cereal bowls, and my favorite vegan taco salad. Lame, I know. 


4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Protein Smoothie

Leave a reply

