Training Update

Hey hey party people! Another week of training on the books, and I feel like I’m finally getting back into fighting shape. This week was the best I’ve had yet. As my dad always tells me, training works. Indeed.

Half Marathon #7 Training–Week 4

Monday: 5 miles w/Roo @8:27

Tuesday: 5 miles @7:50 pace <–where did that come from???

Wednesday: OMGawesome tempo run. Got that? I wanted to do 5 miles at or around 8 minute pace. Had the pup with me for the first 2.5 (1 mile warm up, 1.5 mile @tempo), but she did just fine. Dropped her off, and I was on my way for the rest. All told, the breakdown was this:

Mile 1 (warm up): 9:11
Mile 2: 7:55
Mile 3: 8:06 (dropped off the pup halfway through and 1/2 of this mile was uphill :/)
Mile 4: 7:42 (the downhill from mile 3 helped here)
Mile 5: 7:55
Mile 6: 7:33
Mile 7 (cool down): 8:55

But even more exciting than the pace I maintained is the fact that I did the whole hilly thing with NO PAIN. Party.

Thursday: easy 4 miles w/Roo

Friday: shopping in Georgetown REST

Saturday: 12 miles @8:27
The first half of this run wasn’t bad, but I was tiiiired for the last half. The humidity felt like a heavy blanket, and I was just done. Can’t be too bummed given how great I felt the rest of the week, right? Right.

Sunday: Unplanned REST day–lots of sightseeing down on the Mall, and I was Beat (yes, with a capital B) at the end of the day

So. What’s obviously missing? That would be strength training. I don’t even know how it happened, but I totally–unintentionally, I swear–slacked off. Back at it this week. Strength training is NOT optional!

 

One thought on “Training Update

Leave a reply

