Pain in the … Workout

I used to do the Daily HIIT workouts every day, but now that I’m training for a race, I’m obviously focused more on logging miles. Still, I like to draw my supplementary strength training from Daily HIIT exercises because I’m not original enough to think of these on my own.

Last week, I wanted to get some leg/lower body work in, but wasn’t feeling particularly motivated or creative, so I decided to do a mashup of Daily HIIT moves that were not only challenging, but left my legs and butt feeling like they were on fire. I’ll put it this way: it hurt to sit down the next day. But in the best possible “I worked out hard” kind of way, you know? It was quite literally (yes, actually literally) a pain in the ass.

Think of this as a curated list of my favorite lower body exercises if you will (explanations and pics below).

pain in the ... workout

Sliders: If you don’t have a bar, use a free weight or sandbag. Squat on one leg, sweeping the other leg behind you. It should rest, as shown in the middle picture below, diagonally behind you. Return to upright position and repeat for 8 reps on each side.

Twisting Lunge: Hold a weight at your chest or above your head. Lunge forward with right leg, bring the weight down, and twist to the right side. Return to start and switch sides. Repeat for a total of 8 lunges on each side.

Walking Lateral Squat w/Shoulder Press: Stay in the squat, moving to the right for four squats, doing an overhead press with each one. Switch and do four squats to the left with overhead presses. Repeat on each side for a total of 16 squats/presses.

Sumo Squat w/Side Raise: Squat low, then as you rise up, lift right leg out to the side. Return to squat position, then repeat on left side for 8 reps on each side.

Got any good lower body moves to add to these? Link ’em up in the comments. I’m always on the hunt for new moves!

4 thoughts on “Pain in the … Workout

Leave a reply

