Supergirls!

I made you a workout video. Well, kinda.

{I am so embarrassing.}

OK, so here’s what’s behind this. I do all kinds of HIIT workouts all the time with weird moves that I can’t really describe. The Daily HIIT website is my go-to, but it’s not super easy to navigate or find a video of the exact move I want to share with you. So all the credit goes to them for the idea, but I made my own little video because a). I’m a total dork and b). I really want people to try this stuff, but I know it’s not always easy to figure out what’s going on on that site.

Moving on.

As mentioned in the video, I’m trying to strengthen my hips and back for running so I don’t get injured again. I realize that I’m not going to spot-strengthen anything, so strengthening everything is the name of the game. This move–the “supergirl”–is a single leg squat to single leg deadlift. Ish. It’s tough because it not only requires strength, but balance as well. The thing I’ve noticed, though, is that when you have to balance, it’s great for that overall strengthening piece. This move will work quads, hamstrings, hips, back, ankles, etc. It’s one stop shopping.

The other thing to note about this: it’s hard. You will wobble. You might fall. I am not an expert, so attempt at your own risk and please try not to hurt yourself. I’d start with no weight or even with light dumbbells until you get the hang of it. Let me know what you think!

Also: is this helpful? Do you like my barely amateur/non-existent video production skills? Should I quit embarrassing myself and never make a video again? Or should I quit my job and become the next Jane Fonda?

9 thoughts on “Supergirls!

  1. Look at you becoming a strength training expert! I started the #bestbodybootcamp today and almost died. I need to start doing more strength training so I don’t get injured while training for my next half marathon. Thanks for the motivation! P.S. Love your pup in the background! πŸ™‚

    • Ha–thanks πŸ™‚ I’m trying! I’ve realized what a difference it makes. That keeps me motivated. 

      PS–She was loving that bone! And leaving me alone while I worked out. WIN.

      ________________________________

  2. You probably shouldn’t quit your job (lol!) but I did learn something from this video! I think I could probably adapt this for a kettlebell, since that is what I have. cute dog – but took me a bit to figure out what she was up to πŸ™‚

  3. Don’t listen to them! You are totally the next Jane Fonda! I will even let you take my name. PS: I need one of those sand bags. I have been working out more and more at home. And it rocks.

Leave a reply

