Vancouver Marathon Training: Week 2

This was an interesting week on the training front. I started out the week feeling ok, but bad weather and freezing temps drove me inside, and I wound up feeling more frustrated than anything else. I’m hoping a trip to a very muddy dog park and a little easy elliptical or arc trainer work will help me reset today. We both need the mental relief after being cooped up all week!

Hibernation mode

Hibernation mode

Monday
What I was supposed to do: 5 miles easy
What actually happened: 5 miles @8:13 (8:15, 8:09, 8:14, 7:58, 8:28)
Let the record show that it was in the teens with a windchill closer to 10 degrees. Not for the faint of heart, and certainly not something I’ll be repeating anytime soon. The last mile was uphill and into the wind because it’s a cruel, cruel world. I think my fingers were in the first stages of frostbite when I got home. Getting the feeling back was so painful that I actually thought I might throw up. All treadmill, all the time until it’s over 30 degrees.

Tuesday
What I was supposed to do: XT or rest
What actually happened: 60 minute HIIT workout
I love HIIT training. Felt great during this workout. Even though it was challenging, it just feels so good to push myself in a different way. Always focusing on getting my core, hips, and glutes strong during these workouts motivates me. I think about how it will benefit me during my race and training runs. Also helps that I do these in my living room, and in a rare crafting moment, I made this and hung it on my wall where I can see it when I workout.

we can do hard things

Wednesday
What I was supposed to do: 
Speedwork! 6 miles total — warm up; 1 K repeats @6:51 – 6:55 pace – jog 50-75% of repeat for recovery; cool down
What actually happened: 
6 miles total — warm up; 1 K repeats @6:53 – jog 50-75% of repeat for recovery; cool down
I did what I was supposed to! Yay for me! So, for those of us who operate in miles, 1 kilometer is about 0.62 miles. I did the K repeats with 0.38 recovery jogs to make them even miles because my brain likes those 🙂
Honestly, these weren’t super tough physically, but mentally, I really had to talk myself through them. For each one, I imagined I was on an actual track and thought about where in the lap I’d be, focused on driving my arms, and tried to just stay in the interval. I also like to yell at myself when I’m tired. As in, “If you want to quit, then quit!” My head is a fun place to be.

Thursday
What I was supposed to do:
4 miles no faster than 10:15 pace
What actually happened: 
4 miles @8:34
Four easy recovery miles on the treadmill. My legs felt great, and I actually enjoyed a nice, relaxed run. My only complaint on this day was the abominably smelly dude who hopped on the treadmill next to mine. It was bad enough that I considered moving treadmills. I think I though I was trying to be nice/not offend him in not moving? In hindsight, I should have saved myself. Always save yourself!

Friday
What I was supposed to do:
 XT or rest
What actually happened: REST
That’s all I have to say about that.

Saturday
What I was supposed to do: 
13 miles @8:25-8:35
What actually happened: 13 miles of hell on the treadmill @8:42 average pace
I wasn’t dreading this run beforehand, but maybe I should have been. For the first 7ish miles (until the treadmill stopped itself after an hour–annoying), I felt ok. Not great mentally, but not awful. I followed these Tips on How to Run Long on the Treadmill Without Losing Your Mind from Runners World–not exactly, but enough to give me some variety. I couldn’t get Netflix to load on my iPad to re-watch season 1 of Scandal (WHY DON’T I REMEMBER STEPHEN?!?!), so I just put on a favorite playlist and tried to relax and enjoy. It wasn’t happening.

I tried out a new pair of shoes (just a new pair of the Brooks PureFlow 2s I’ve been wearing for over a year), and that was mistake #1. I should’ve worn an older pair and broken those in. Silly me. I wound up with a very sore right foot and uncomfortable form for the last 6 miles.

Why have you foresaken me?!

Why have you foresaken me?!

The run was so bad that around miles 9, 10, 11, 12, and 12.5, I considered quitting. When I’m out for a run outside, I never want to quit. I can always push through. I even walked for a bit around mile 11. I just did.not.want.it. And then I felt off for the rest of the day. Just unsettled. Not at all accomplished. Frustrated.

Sunday (today)
What I was supposed to do: XT or rest
What actually happened: Planning on 30-45 minutes on some kind of workout machine at the gym. Elliptical? Arc Trainer? And some core work.

vancouver marathon training week 2

Now I’m wondering how to incorporate strength training while not exhausting myself so much that I struggle through speedwork and long runs. My XT days are always the days before tough workouts, so I don’t want to exhaust myself, but I do want keep up the strength. I’m emailing my coaches today to see what they say, so hopefully I’ll have more to say about this next week.

I’ve also noticed that I am craving protein like crazy, which isn’t surprising at all. I’ve been pretty committed to a mostly vegan diet for over 2 years, but I’ve been craving meat lately. I’m going to try to reintroduce some meats to my diet this week and see how my stomach does with them. Although, I have homemade chicken noodle soup on the stove right now, and the smell is making me nauseous, so there you go. <sigh>

2 thoughts on “Vancouver Marathon Training: Week 2

Leave a reply

