Roasted Acorn Squash with Apples & Sausage

Ha! Betcha thought you got rid of me for a day, huh? No dice, kids! Just a crazy busy day with another crazy busy day on the docket for tomorrow. Cross your fingers that I don’t need to work this weekend, pretty please?

I almost didn’t blog today, but I had to pop in to share this recipe. My friend, Steph, came over to be my first dinner guest at my new place, and I cooked! While this recipe does take a little while (because you have to roast your squash for an hour), it’s really easy and totally worth it. Make it, mmmmmkay???

Roasted Acorn Squash with Apples & Sausage

Serves 2

1 acorn squash

2 tsp. Smart Balance Light (or butter)

2 tsp. brown sugar

2 Italian turkey sausages

1 apple, chopped

1/2 cup caramelized onions (I make them while the squash roasts)

1/4 cup beef or chicken broth, or wine Winking smile

1 tsp. thyme

S&P to taste

Preheat the oven to 450*. With a very sharp knife, slice the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Place the halves cut side up in a baking dish and put a teaspoon of Smart Balance and a teaspoon of brown sugar in each half. Sprinkle with salt and roast for 1 hour.

While the squash roasts, caramelize your onions—it usually takes me around 40 minutes.  To get half a cup of caramelized onions, I’d use 2-3 medium sized onions.

When the squash has about 15 minutes left, take the sausage out of its casings and cut it into pieces. Brown the sausage in a skillet over medium heat until no longer pink. Add the apples and onions to the pan and toss together. Season with thyme and add the broth to deglaze the pan. Bring it up to a simmer and cook, covered, for 5-8 minutes, until the apples are softened, but not mushy. Season with S&P to taste.

Mound the apple sausage filling into your roasted squash halves and serve.

005

I don’t think there’s a more fall meal out there! Sweet and spicy, I am in love with the flavors going on in this dish!

002

The squash and apples are sweet, but not too sweet, and the spicy, salty sausage makes for a perfect pairing.

004

If I had more energy right now, I’m sure I could come up with a fabulous description, but I’m beat. So for now I’ll just say this is delicious. You should make it. The end.

Time to face plant into bed!

Do you cook at the end of a long day or go straight for takeout???

I’m always tempted by takeout, but cooking actually relaxes me. OK, the wine I drink while cooking relaxes me, but let’s not split hairs now.

14 thoughts on “Roasted Acorn Squash with Apples & Sausage

  1. My favorite part of this post…
    “If I had more energy right now, I’m sure I could come up with a fabulous description, but I’m beat. So for now I’ll just say this is delicious. You should make it.”

    I love it…you’re awesome! Honesty is so funny!
    xoxo from Trinidad

Leave a reply